jazz Jazz Journalists Association music United States world

Jazz Journalists Association announces 2010 Jazz Award winners

According to a news release, the Jazz Journalists Association announced winners of the 2010 Jazz Awards at the City Winery in New York City on Monday, June 14, 2010, honoring honoring more than 40 musicians, presenters, jazz supporters and jazz journalists for the 14th year. Recipients of the Jazz Awards receive engraved statuettes from the international organization of some 450 writers, broadcasters, photographers and new media producers.
Highest honors went to saxophonist and flutist James Moody, for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz, and to veteran music journalist Don Heckman, for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism. Pianist-composer Vijay Iyer was named Musician of the Year, while multiple Awards were received by Joe Lovano (Record of the Year for Folk Art, Small Group of the Year for the band Us Five, and Tenor Saxophonist of the Year), Maria Schneider (Composer of the Year, Arranger of the Year) and Darcy James Argue, as Up and Coming Artist of the Year and for the Large Ensemble of the Year, his big band Secret Society. An entire list of the winners and other information can be seen at 

By mitchmuse

Global communicator, Journalism, Entrepreneur, Web editor, Blogger, Freelance writer, Jazz enthusiast