Jazz Journalists Association announces musical lineup for awards show in June 2011

According to a recent news release, pianist Randy Weston headlines the artist lineup, and tickets are now on sale at www.JJAJazzAwards.org for the 15th annual Jazz Journalists Association Jazz Awards gala, to be held on Saturday, June 11, 2011, from 1 to 5 p.m. EDT at City Winery, 155 Varick St. at Vandam in New York City.
Randy Weston/African Rhythms
Photo credit Ariane Smolderen
Besides Weston, trumpeter Wallace Roney’s sextet, Canadian flutist/soprano saxophonist Jane Bunnett with Cuban-born pianist Hilario Duran and special guest Candido on congas, singer Gregory Porter (a nominee for the JJA’s Male Vocalist of the Year Award) and the Hammer Klavier Trio from Hamburg will perform at the event. The JJA gala, a fundraiser for the non-profit professional organization that promotes coverage of jazz in all media, will also feature announcements and presentations of the Awards to winners, and introductions of “Jazz Heroes” honored for extra-musical jazz activism in locales across the U.S. (in order to highlight the decentralized aspect of jazz activism, the JJA is not inducting “A Team” jazz activists this year). 
The Jazz Awards is being produced as live streaming video, viewable online (and later archived) at JJAJazzAwards.org. Free satellite parties have been convened to watch the Awards in Berkeley, Boston, Nashville, Phoenix, Portland OR, Seattle and Washington, D.C, among other sites.
The general public may purchase tickets to the Awards gala in New York for $150. Ticket reservations, the list of all nominees for 2011 JJA Jazz Awards, details about the satellite parties and videos of the performers are also available at JJAJazzAwards.org.

Jazz Journalists Association announces 2010 Jazz Award winners

According to a news release, the Jazz Journalists Association announced winners of the 2010 Jazz Awards at the City Winery in New York City on Monday, June 14, 2010, honoring honoring more than 40 musicians, presenters, jazz supporters and jazz journalists for the 14th year. Recipients of the Jazz Awards receive engraved statuettes from the international organization of some 450 writers, broadcasters, photographers and new media producers.
Highest honors went to saxophonist and flutist James Moody, for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz, and to veteran music journalist Don Heckman, for Lifetime Achievement in Jazz Journalism. Pianist-composer Vijay Iyer was named Musician of the Year, while multiple Awards were received by Joe Lovano (Record of the Year for Folk Art, Small Group of the Year for the band Us Five, and Tenor Saxophonist of the Year), Maria Schneider (Composer of the Year, Arranger of the Year) and Darcy James Argue, as Up and Coming Artist of the Year and for the Large Ensemble of the Year, his big band Secret Society. An entire list of the winners and other information can be seen at 

Jazz Journalists Association announces musical lineup for awards

According to a news release, the musical lineup is confirmed for the 14th annual Jazz Journalists Association Jazz Awards gala to be held from 3:30 to 6:30 p.m. on Monday, June 14, 2010, at City Winery, 155 Varick St. at Vandam in New York City. 
Bobby Sanabria‘s Big Band, alto saxophonist Tia Fuller‘s Quartet, pianist Marc Cary‘s Focus Trio, Serbian guitarist Rale Micic‘s trio and solo pianist Ayako Shirasaki will perform at the JJA event, which features announcement of Awards winners, “A Team” and “Jazz Hero” honorees followed by a buffet reception. The general public may purchase tickets to either the awards ceremony and the reception ($150, doors open at 3:30 p.m.) or only the reception ($75, doors open at 5 p.m.). Tickets for the Awards, all nominations for JJA 2010 Jazz Awards, information about the JJA and its initiatives and updates about the Awards are available at www.JJAJazzAwards.org
The JJA Jazz Awards is the only broad-based international celebration of jazz excellence. It was begun in 1997 as a collaboration between the Jazz Journalists Association and Michael Dorf (then executive director of the Knitting Factory, now director of City Winery) and has been produced annually since 1999 independently by the JJA, a 501 (c) (3) professional organization dedicated to growing the jazz audience by using all available forms of media. 
JJA Jazz Awards are presented in more than 40 categories encompassing jazz music, presentation and documentation. The JJA’s “A Team” honors activists, advocates, altruists, aiders and abettors of jazz whose work has had far-reaching implications, and the new “Jazz Heroes” category celebrates jazz people who have had significant effect on their immediate locales.